Part 2 – Three Baptisms Mentioned in the New Testament

Three Kinds of Baptisms

The New Testament mentions three baptisms:

  1. Baptism in water (Matt 28:19, Acts 2:38, Matt 3:16-17)
  2. Baptism into the Body of Christ (1 Cor 12:13-14, 15-31)
  3. Baptism in the Holy Spirit (Acts 1:5-8, Matt 3:11, Luke 3:16, John 1:32-34)

Acts 1:5-8 says:

“For John truly baptized with water, but you shall be baptized with the Holy Spirit not many days from now.” Therefore, when they had come together, they asked Him, saying, “Lord, will You at this time restore the kingdom to Israel?” And He said to them, “It is not for you to know times or seasons which the Father has put in His own authority. But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

Jesus is the One who baptizes born again believers in the Holy Ghost AND the fire of God.

John 1:32-34 says:

And John bare record, saying, “I saw the Spirit descending from Heaven like a dove, and it abode upon Him. And I knew Him not: but He that sent me to baptize with water, the same said unto me, Upon whom thou shalt see the Spirit descending, and remaining on Him, the same is He which baptizeth with the Holy Ghost. And I saw, and bare record that this is the Son of God.”

John the Baptist declared in Matthew 3:11:

“I indeed baptize you with water unto repentance: but He that cometh after me is mightier than I, whose shoes I am not worthy to bear: He shall baptize you with the Holy Ghost, and with fire.”

Greek words and definitions of “baptize”:

  1. NT:907 baptizo.
  1. Literally, to dip repeatedly, to immerge, submerge.
  2. To cleanse by dipping or submerging, to wash, to make clean with water.
  3. metaphorically, to overwhelm or “to be identified with”.

 

  1. NT:908 baptisma, baptismatos.
  1. immersion, submersion.

We can see by these Greek definitions that New Testament baptism was administered by complete immersion, rather than sprinkling.

When Jesus was baptized in water by John the Baptist, He was completely submerged under the water and then rose up out of the water.

When the Holy Spirit fell on the Day of Pentecost in the Upper Room where the 120 were gathered, the Holy Spirit totally overwhelmed them, and there appeared to be flames of fire (they were baptized or immersed in the fire of God).

When believers are spiritually baptized into the Body of Christ, that means they are immersed or saturated into the Body of Christ. They become one with another (in spirit) in Christ.

Author: Kathleen Riley

Welcome to my teaching and healing ministry blog. This ministry proclaims healing to the sick, compassion to the depressed, deliverance to the oppressed and freedom to the captives. I also teach on other subjects in addition to healing and faith. I am a Bible Teacher, Writer, involved in Healing Ministry, Musician and have led worship in the past. I reside in the Northern California Bay Area in the USA. I graduated from Shiloh Bible College in Oakland, California in 2003 with a Bachelor of Theology. I am a member of Light the Bay Church in Pittsburg, California pastored by Jason and Peggy Younger (www.lightthebay.com). The theme Scripture verses for my ministry is 3 John 2 "Beloved, I pray above all things that you may prosper and be in health, just as your soul prospers." And John 10:10 "The thief (devil) comes only for to steal, kill and destroy. But I (Jesus) have come that you may have life, and have it in abundance (til it overflows)." You are welcome to send in prayer requests. You may contact me at lordcomenhealme@att.net.