Seven Churches – Significant Triplets, Chapters 1-3

Seven Churches – Significant Triplets, Chapters 1-3

Throughout Chapters 1-3 of Revelation, we see significant number patterns that are used frequently.

(Actually, throughout the entire book of Revelation we see these same numbers and patterns.  However, in this study we are going to deal primarily with Chapters 1-3.)

Beginning with Chapter 1, we see patterns of triplets (3’s).  Jesus, in His prose and speech, communicated in a poetic language style where there are patterns of three’s in most of the verses in the first three chapters.

Also, we see patterns of sevens (7’s) mentioned.  We also see patterns of doubles (2’s) which could be used for emphasis, or could be synonyms or antonyms.  There are also significant patterns of fours (4’s) and fives (5’s).

Triplets (3’s) (Taken from the New King James Version)

Chapter 1

Verse 1

  1. The Revelation of Jesus Christ
  2. Which God gave him (John) to show His servants
  3. Things which must shortly take place

Verse 2

  1. Who bore witness to the Word of God
  2. And to the testimony of Jesus Christ
  3. To all things that he saw

Verse 3

  1. Blessed is he who reads
  2. And those who hear the words of this prophecy
  3. And keep those things which are written in it

Verse 4

  1. Him who is, and who was, and who is to come
  2. And from the Seven Spirits who are before His Throne
  3. From Jesus Christ

Verse 5a

  1. The faithful witness
  2. The firstborn from the dead
  3. And the ruler over the kings of the earth

Verse 5b and 6

  1. To Him who loved us
  2. And washed us from our sins in His own Blood
  3. And has made us kings and priests to His God and Father

Verse 7

  1. Behold, He is coming with the clouds
  2. And every eye will see Him
  3. Even they who pierced Him

Verse 8

  1. I am the Alpha and the Omega
  2. The Beginning and the End
  3. Who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty

Verse 9

  1. Tribulation
  2. Kingdom
  3. Patience

Verse 11

  1. I am the Alpha and the Omega
  2. The First and the Last
  3. What you see, write in a book and send it to the seven churches which are in Asia

Verse 13

  1. One like the Son of Man
  2. Clothed with a garment down to the feet
  3. Girded about the chest with a golden band

Verse 14

  1. His head and hair were white like wool
  2. As white as snow
  3. And His eyes like a flame of fire

Verse 16

  1. He had in His right hand seven stars
  2. Out of His mouth went a sharp two-edged sword
  3. His countenance was like the sun shining in all its strength

Verse 17

  1. And when I saw Him, I fell at His feet as dead
  2. But He laid His right hand on me saying to me
  3. Do not be afraid; I am the First and the Last

Verse 18

  1. I am He who lives
  2. And was dead
  3. I am alive forevermore

Verse 19

  1. Write the things which you have seen
  2. And the things which are
  3. And the things which will take place after this

 

Chapter 2

Verse 2a

  1. I know your works
  2. Your labor
  3. Your patience

Verse 2b

  1. You cannot bear those who are evil
  2. You have tested those who say they are apostles and are not
  3. And have found them liars

Verse 3

  1. Persevered
  2. Have patience
  3. Labored

Verse 5

  1. Remember therefore from where you have fallen
  2. Repent and do the first works
  3. Or else I will come to you quickly and remove your lampstand from its place – unless you repent

Verse 6

  1. But this you have
  2. That you hate the deeds of the Nicolaitans
  3. Which I also hate

Verse 8

  1. First and the Last
  2. Who was dead
  3. And came to life

Verse 9

  1. Works
  2. Tribulation
  3. Poverty

Verse 13

  1. I know your works
  2. And where you dwell
  3. Where Satan’s throne is

Verse 14

  1. Who taught Balak to put a stumbling block before the children of Israel
  2. To eat things sacrificed to idols
  3. To commit sexual immorality

Verse 18

  1. Son of God
  2. Eyes like a flame of fire
  3. Feet like fine brass

Verse 22-23

  1. I will cast her into a sickbed
  2. Into great tribulation
  3. I will kill her children with death

Verse 24

  1. Now to you I say and to the rest in Thyatira
  2. As many as do not have this doctrine
  3. Who have not known the depths of Satan

Verse 26

  1. And he who overcomes
  2. Keeps My works until the end
  3. I will give power over the nations

Verse 27-28

  1. He shall rule them with a rod of iron
  2. They shall be dashed to pieces like the potter’s vessels
  3. I will give him the morning star

 

Chapter 3

Verse 1

  1. I know your works
  2. You have a name that you are alive
  3. But you are dead

Verse 2

  1. Be watchful
  2. Strengthen the things which remain
  3. I have not found your works perfect before God

Verse 5

  1. He who overcomes shall be clothed in white garments
  2. I will not blot out his name from the Book of Life
  3. I will confess his name before My Father and before His angels

Verse 7

  1. He who has the Key of David
  2. He who opens and no one shuts
  3. And shuts and no one opens

Verse 8a

  1. I know your works
  2. I have set before you an open door
  3. No one can shut it

Verse 8b

  1. You have a little strength
  2. Have kept My Word
  3. Have not denied My Name

Verse 9

  1. I will make those of the synagogue of Satan
  2. Come and worship before your feet
  3. And to know that I have loved you

Verse 10

  1. Because you have kept My command to persevere
  2. I also will keep you from the hour of trial which shall come upon the whole world
  3. To test those who dwell on the earth

Verse 11

  1. I am coming quickly
  2. Hold fast what you have
  3. That no one may take your crown

Verse 12

  1. I will make him a pillar in the Temple of My God
  2. I will write on him the Name of My God and the Name of the City of My God
  3. I will write on him My new Name

Verse 14

  1. These things says the Amen
  2. The Faithful and True Witness
  3. The Beginning of the Creation of God

Verse 15

  1. I know your works
  2. You are neither cold nor hot
  3. I wish you were cold or hot

Verse 16

  1. You are lukewarm
  2. Neither cold nor hot
  3. I will vomit you out of My mouth

Verse 18

  1. Buy from Me gold refined in the fire
  2. And white garments
  3. Anoint your eyes with eye salve

Verse 19

  1. As many as I love
  2. I rebuke and chasten
  3. Be zealous and repent

Verse 20

  1. Behold, I stand at the door and knock
  2. If anyone hears My Voice and opens the door
  3. I will come in to him and dine with him and he with Me

Author: Kathleen Riley

Welcome to my teaching and healing ministry blog. This ministry proclaims healing to the sick, compassion to the depressed, deliverance to the oppressed and freedom to the captives. I also teach on other subjects in addition to healing and faith. I am a Bible Teacher, Writer, involved in Healing Ministry, Musician and have led worship in the past. I reside in the Northern California Bay Area in the USA. I graduated from Shiloh Bible College in Oakland, California in 2003 with a Bachelor of Theology. I am a member of Light the Bay Church in Pittsburg, California pastored by Jason and Peggy Younger (www.lightthebay.com). The theme Scripture verses for my ministry is 3 John 2 "Beloved, I pray above all things that you may prosper and be in health, just as your soul prospers." And John 10:10 "The thief (devil) comes only for to steal, kill and destroy. But I (Jesus) have come that you may have life, and have it in abundance (til it overflows)." You are welcome to send in prayer requests. You may contact me at lordcomenhealme@att.net.